funny PhD stuff

Sáng nay đọc mấy cái posts trên Facebook của “Shit Academics Say” không nhịn được cười và cười đến chảy nước mắt. Stressed thì stressed thiệt nhưng đọc xong mấy cái posts này làm mình thấy relax hơn nhiều, để rồi stressed trở lại 🙂 Quote ở đây để lâu lâu đọc lại (Remarks: I do not own the posts. They belong to their rightful owners.)

“Mornings
1. Coffee
2. Review to-do list
3. Self-directed anger at profound inability to say no
4. Remind that I love what I do
5. Feel worse”

“To-do list
1. Thing I’ve already done so I can cross it off
2. Thing I should have done 6 months ago
3. Thing I’ll actually do that’s not writing
4. Shame”

“This mannequin just threw a textbook in the garbage and told me to call it by its first name.”

“The mannequin challenge. Every class when you ask a question and nobody has done the reading.”

“How to be productive when working from home:
1. Don’t nap
2. Don’t nap
3. Don’t nap
4. Just one quick nap then it’s back to writing I promise”

“statistical significance
¯\(ツ)/¯ < 0.01
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ < 0.05
¯\__(ツ)__/¯ < 0.10″

“Relationship status: p = .0551”

“academic flirting like
boy: your manuscript is great
girl: you haven’t read it
boy: I don’t have to”

“I think, therefore I drink.”

“Manuscript stages:
1. Love
2. Anger
3. Denial
4. Revision
5. Ibid.
6. Suppression
7. Acceptance
8. Indifference”

“Donald Trump as Reviewer 2:
“When academia sends its papers, they’re not sending their best. They’re not sending mine. They’re not sending mine. They’re sending papers that have lots of problems, and they’re bringing those problems with them. They’re bringing the wrong citations. They’re bringing high p-values. They’re poorly written. And some, I assume, are good papers”

“A PhD student is someone who forgoes current income in order to forgo future income.”

“Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% attempting to get it published in a sufficiently high-ranking journal.”

“Can someone ask WikiLeaks to check on the status of my manuscript submission.”

“It’s not self-plagiarism. I asked myself if I could use it and I said it was fine.”

“To err is human. To err repeatedly is research.”

“I was just wondering if you had time to grab a coffee and discuss how busy we are.”

“The best things in academic life are-
[To purchase full text click below]”

Leave a Reply

